PVNC celebrates 2022 Catholic Student Leadership Awards


May 4, 2022

As part of Catholic Education Week, which runs May 1 to May 6, Peterborough Victoria Northumberland and Clarington Catholic District School Board (PVNC) honoured 38 students with a Catholic Student Leadership Award during a ceremony at Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School in Peterborough on Wednesday, May 4, 2022.

One student has been selected from each elementary and secondary school and winners were presented with a special medallion. Award recipients were nominated by principals, teachers and in some cases, fellow students. Each demonstrated outstanding qualities in Catholic leadership, family commitment, involvement in school affairs, involvement in community activities and dedication to a difficult situation or task.

“These award winners are true role models who embody the goals of our Catholic Graduate Expectations,” said Braden Leal, Chairperson of the Board. “Catholic Education Week affords us a perfect time to pay tribute to the student leaders in our schools and reflect on the importance of faith in our lives, and the role it plays in Catholic education.”



Group Photo

Back row from left: Director of Education Joan Carragher, Emma MacDonald (Monsignor Leo Cleary CES), Makenzie Nichols ( Holy Trinity CSS), Cheyenne Hudson (St. Elizabeth CES), Superintendent of Schools Julie Selby and Trustee Linda Ainsworth.

Front row from left: Daniel Zito (Good Shepherd CES), Connor James (St. Mother Teresa CES), Anna Golobic (St. Francis of Assisi CES), Elizabeth Payne (St. Joseph CES), Alena Vuong (Holy Family CES) and Chase Hudson (St. Stephen CSS).


Group Photo

Back row from left: Superintendent of Schools Jonathan Di Ianni, Rees Tewsley (St. Anne CES), Quinten Fowler (St. Paul CES), William White (St. Peter CSS), Ruby Briand (Holy Cross CSS), Director of Education Joan Carragher and Trustee David Bernier. Front row from left: Josiah McMahon (St. Alphonsus CES), Lola Bittner (St. Catherine CES), Jayden Hopkins (St. John CES), Avery Pick (St. Patrick CES), Hunter Young (St. Teresa CES), Chloe McMahon (Monsignor O’Donoghue CES) and Liam Cook (Immaculate Conception CES).

Peterborough County

Group Photo

From left: Trustee David Bernier, Sydney MacLellan (St. Paul CES Lakefield), Katie Payne (St. Joseph CES Norwood), Addison Gerelus (St. Martin CES), Keira deLaPlante (St. Joseph CES Douro), Director of Education Joan Carragher and Superintendent of Schools Jonathan Di Ianni.


Group Photo

From left: Trustee David Bernier, Donny Drake (St. Anthony CES), Janey King (St. Mary CES Campbellford), Emma Smith (St. Mary CES Grafton), Jessica Harris (St. Mary CSS), Michel Gagné (St. Michael CES), Ayaji Antolin (St. Joseph CES), and Director of Education Joan Carragher. Absent: Matteo Crimi (Notre Dame CES).

Kawartha Lakes

Group Photo

From left: Director of Education Joan Carragher, Trustee Loretta Durst, Madison Mohr (St. John Paul II CES), Raina Willson (St. Dominic CES), Eva Winn (St. Luke CES), Faith Griffiths (St. Mary CES), Alisha Byrne (St. Thomas Aquinas CSS), James Gouin (St. Thomas Aquinas Virtual Secondary School), Superintendent of Schools Sheilla Piggott. Absent: Niamh Walsh (St. Thomas Aquinas Virtual Elementary  School).


Full List of Winners

Student School
Faith Griffiths St. Mary CES, Lindsay
Niamh Walsh STA Virtual Elementary School
James Gouin STA Virtual Secondary School
Jayden Hopkins St. John  CES, Peterborough
Ruby Briand Holy Cross CSS, Peterborough
William White St. Peter CSS, Peterborough
Quinten Fowler St. Paul CES, Peterborough
Makenzie Nichols Holy Trinity CSS, Courtice
Chase Hudson St. Stephen CSS, Bowmanville
Lola Bittner St. Catherine CES, Peterborough
Avery Pick St. Patrick CES, Peterborough
Michel Gagné St. Michael CES, Cobourg
Liam Cook Immaculate Conception CES, Peterborough
Anna Golobic St. Francis of Assisi CES, Newcastle
Alena Vuong Holy Family CES, Bowmanville
Elizabeth Payne St. Joseph CES, Bowmanville
Katie Payne St. Paul CES, Norwood
Matteo Crimi Notre Dame CES, Cobourg
Cheyenne Hudson St. Elizabeth CES, Bownmanville
Rees Tewsley St. Anne CES, Peterborough
Keira deLaPlante St. Joseph CES, Douro
Emma MacDonald Monsignor Leo Cleary CES, Courtice
Chloe McMahon Monsignor O’Donoghue CES, Peterborough
Sydney MacLellan St. Paul CES, Lakefield
Janey King St. Mary CES, Campbellford
Eva Winn St. Luke CES, Downeyville
Hunter Young St. Teresa CES, Peterborough
Connor James St. Mother Teresa CES, Courtice
Emma Smith St. Mary CES, Grafton
Daniel Zito Good Shepherd CES, Courtice
Jessica Harris St. Mary CSS, Cobourg
Alisha Byrne St. Thomas Aquinas CSS, Lindsay
Addison Gerelus St. Martin CES, Ennismore
Madison Mohr St. John Paul II CES, Lindsay
Raina Willson St. Dominic CES, Lindsay
Ayaji Antolin St. Joseph CES, Cobourg
Donny Drake St. Anthony CES, Port Hope
Josiah McMahon St. Alphonsus CES