Peterborough trustee Braden Leal elected as PVNC Catholic Board chairperson

Braden Leal

Dec. 1, 2021

Peterborough trustee Braden Leal was acclaimed as Peterborough Victoria Northumberland and Clarington (PVNC) Catholic District School Board chairperson during the Board’s annual meeting Wednesday, Dec. 1, 2021, held at the Catholic Education Centre.   ​

Leal has been serving as vice-chairperson since Oct. 26, 2021. He has served three years in the trustee role, having been elected as first-time trustee in the 2018 municipal election.

“I am honoured to take on this new role. I am a proud PVNC graduate, and I look forward to working with my fellow trustees as we continue to guide the Board through these challenging times,” Leal said. “The pandemic continues to place extreme pressures on our staff, students and families and our work as trustees has never been more vital as we strive for excellence in Catholic Education and to educate students in faith-filled, loving, safe, inclusive schools.”

Clarington trustee Kevin MacKenzie was acclaimed vice-chairperson. MacKenzie also marked three years as a trustee, elected as first-time trustee in the 2018 municipal election.

Leal takes over the chairperson role from Northumberland trustee David Bernier, who was elected to the role in December 2020. Bernier has been a trustee for 15 years and previously served as Board chairperson from 2008 through 2010. Leal acknowledged Bernier’s service in the chairperson role and thanked him for his leadership over the past year.

Trustees Helen McCarthy (Peterborough) and Linda Ainsworth (Clarington) have both served on the Board for seven years, having first been elected in October 2014.

Trustee Emmanuel Pinto (Peterborough County) marked three years in his role. Tuesday was the first annual board meeting for newly appointed Kawartha Lakes trustee Loretta Durst, who officially joined the Board during the Nov. 23, 2021 regular board meeting.

During Tuesday’s annual board meeting, trustees were also appointed to standing and ad-hoc Board committees.

Peterborough Bishop Daniel Miehm celebrated mass following the annual board meeting.