PVNC Catholic celebrates 2023 Catholic Student Leadership Awards

Catholic Student Leadership Awards, group shot

May 3, 2023,

As part of Catholic Education Week, which runs April 30 to May 5, 2023,  Peterborough Victoria Northumberland and Clarington Catholic District School Board (PVNC) honoured 38 students with a Catholic Student Leadership Award during a ceremony at Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School in Peterborough on Wednesday, May 3, 2023.

One student has been selected from each elementary and secondary school and winners were presented with a special medallion. Award recipients were nominated by principals, teachers and in some cases, fellow students. Each demonstrated outstanding qualities in Catholic leadership, family commitment, involvement in school affairs, involvement in community activities and dedication to a difficult situation or task.

“These award winners are true role models who embody the goals of our Catholic Graduate Expectations,” said Kevin MacKenzie, Chairperson of the Board. “Catholic Education Week affords us a perfect time to pay tribute to the student leaders in our schools and reflect on the importance of faith in our lives, and the role it plays in Catholic education.”


Catholic Leadership Awards Clarington District Winners

Back row from left: Chairperson Kevin MacKenzie, Bishop Daniel Miehm, Abigail Clark (St. Elizabeth CES, Bowmanville), Spencer Lamain (St. Francis of Assisi CES, Newcastle), Melina Dahl (St. Joseph CES, Bowmanville), Rachel Heemskerk (St. Stephen CSS, Bowmanville) Director of Education Joan Carragher, Superintendent Julie Selby and Trustee Joshua Glover.

Front Row from left: Laura Cooper (Good Shepherd CES, Courtice), Paige Stacey (Holy Trinity CSS, Courtice), Monica Rocha (​​Monsignor Leo Cleary CES, Courtice) and Carter Rorabeck (St. Mother Teresa CES, Courtice). Absent: Geriane Yu (Holy Family CES, Bowmanville) and Aoife Walsh (STA Virtual Secondary School).


Catholic Leadership Awards City of Peterborough Winners

Back row from left: Superintendent Jonathan Di Ianni, Bishop Daniel Miehm, Trustee Loretta Durst, Madelyn Gaskell (Holy Cross CSS), Colby Gervais (Monsignor O’Donoghue CES), Griffyn Davis (St. Paul CES), Grace Murphy (St. Peter CSS), Diamond Fagundes (St. Teresa CES), Matthew Hatim (STA Virtual Elementary School), Director of Education Joan Carragher and Trustee Mike Ayotte. 

Front row from left: Matilda Alderson (Immaculate Conception CES), Preston Buckingham (St. Alphonsus CES), Beatrice Jarbeau (St. Anne CES), Ella Sehn (St. Catherine CES), Benjamin Kingston (St. John CES) and Camden Walser (St. Patrick CES).

Peterborough County

Catholic Leadership Awards County of Peterborough Winners

Back row from left: Superintendent Jonathan Di Ianni, Bishop Daniel Miehm, Director of Education Joan Carragher, Superintendent Jeannie Armstrong and Trustee Jenny Leahy.

Front row from left: Gillian Coons (St. Joseph CES, Douro), Joseph Hulsman (St. Martin CES, Ennismore), Jocelyn Jessup (St. Paul CES, Lakefield) and Shoal White (St. Paul CES, Norwood).


Catholic Leadership Awards Northumberland Winners

Back from Left: Trustee Kathleen Tanguay, Bishop Daniel Miehm, Aubrey Boyer (St. Joseph CES, Cobourg), Elyssa Logel (St. Mary CES, Grafton), Gabriella de Haas (St. Mary CSS, Cobourg), Director of Education Joan Carragher and Superintendent Sheila Piggott.

Front from left: Sophia Giancotti (Notre Dame CES, Cobourg), Delaney Stewart (St. Anthony CES, Port Hope), Cara Mahoney (St. Mary CES, Campbellford) and Isla Brydson (St. Michael CES, Cobourg).

Kawartha Lakes

Catholic Leadership Awards City of Kawartha Lakes District Winners

Back from Left: Bishop Daniel Miehm, Director of Education Joan Carragher, Edward Moynes (St. Mary CES, Lindsay), Siobhan Marie (St. Thomas Aquinas CSS, Lindsay), Trustee Mary Ann Martin, Superintendent Sheila Piggott and Superintendent Sean Heuchert. 

Front from left: Frank Roddy (St. John Paul II CES, Lindsay), Lauren Crowder (St. Dominic CES, Lindsay) and Anna Falls (St. Luke CES, Downeyville).

Full List of Winners

Student School
Edward Moynes St. Mary CES, Lindsay
Matthew Hatim STA Virtual Elementary School
Aoife Walsh STA Virtual Secondary School
Benjamin Kingston St. John  CES, Peterborough
Madelyn Gaskell Holy Cross CSS, Peterborough
Grace Murphy St. Peter CSS, Peterborough
Griffyn Davis St. Paul CES, Peterborough
Paige Stacey Holy Trinity CSS, Courtice
Rachel Heemskerk St. Stephen CSS, Bowmanville
Ella Sehn St. Catherine CES, Peterborough
Camden Walser St. Patrick CES, Peterborough
Isla Brydson St. Michael CES, Cobourg
Matilda Alderson Immaculate Conception CES, Peterborough
Spencer Lamain St. Francis of Assisi CES, Newcastle
Geriane Yu Holy Family CES, Bowmanville
Melina Dahl St. Joseph CES, Bowmanville
Shoal White St. Paul CES, Norwood
Sophia Giancotti Notre Dame CES, Cobourg
Abigail Clark St. Elizabeth CES, Bowmanville
Beatrice Jarbeau St. Anne CES, Peterborough
Gillian Coons St. Joseph CES, Douro
Monica Rocha Monsignor Leo Cleary CES, Courtice
Colby Gervais Monsignor O’Donoghue CES, Peterborough
Jocelyn Jessup St. Paul CES, Lakefield
Cara Mahoney St. Mary CES, Campbellford
Anna Falls St. Luke CES, Downeyville
Diamond Fagundes St. Teresa CES, Peterborough
Carter Rorabeck St. Mother Teresa CES, Courtice
Elyssa Logel St. Mary CES, Grafton
Laura Cooper Good Shepherd CES, Courtice
Gabriella de Haas St. Mary CSS, Cobourg
Siobhan Marie St. Thomas Aquinas CSS, Lindsay
Joseph Hulsman St. Martin CES, Ennismore
Frank Roddy St. John Paul II CES, Lindsay
Lauren Crowder St. Dominic CES, Lindsay
Aubrey Boyer St. Joseph CES, Cobourg
Delaney Stewart St. Anthony CES, Port Hope
Preston Buckingham St. Alphonsus CES, Peterborough