



THE MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE BOARD held Tuesday, December 3, 2019 at 4:00 p.m. at The Mount Community Centre, 1545 Monaghan Road, Peterborough, ON.

PRESENT:

Trustees - Linda Ainsworth, Dave Bernier, Michelle Griepsma, Braden Leal, Kevin MacKenzie, Helen McCarthy and Emmanuel Pinto.

Administration - Joan Carragher, Laurie Corrigan, Galen Eagle, Pepe Garieri, Isabel Grace, Fr. Paul Massel, Dawn Michie, Tim Moloney, and Michael Nasello.

Recorder – Michelle Kennedy.

A. Call to Order:

1. Opening Prayer

In accordance with the Education Act and the Board By-Laws, the Chief Executive Officer, Michael Nasello presided as meeting chair until the Chairperson of the Board was elected.

The meeting was called to order at 4:30 p.m. Michael Nasello welcomed everyone and noted principal and staff guests present. He especially thanked and welcomed His Excellency, Bishop Daniel Miehm and invited him to begin the meeting with prayer.

2. Land Acknowledgement

Michael Nasello respectfully acknowledged that the Annual Board Meeting was taking place on the treaty and traditional territory of the Mississauga Anishinaabeg.

3. Singing of the National Anthem

The National Anthem was sung.

4. Approval of the Agenda

MOTION: Moved by Braden Leal, seconded by Kevin MacKenzie

that the agenda be approved.

Carried.

5. Declarations of Conflicts of Interest.

There were no declarations of conflicts of interest.

6. Director's Remarks

The Director of Education, Michael Nasello addressed the trustees and quoted from the Assembly of Catholic Bishops of Ontario's Pastoral Letter "Renewing the Promise" that Catholic school trustees have the responsibility of the stewardship of Catholic education with other partners in the Catholic Education Community.

Mr. Nasello thanked the trustees for their generosity of service to Catholic education and offered prayers and support as they take on the collaborative work on committees and service to our students.

B. Recommended Actions:

1. Appointment of the two tellers.

Tim Moloney accepted nomination as the first teller.

MOTION: Moved by David Bernier, seconded by Kevin MacKenzie

that Tim Moloney be appointed as the first teller.

Carried.

Joan Carragher accepted nomination as the second teller.

MOTION: Moved by Linda Ainsworth, seconded by Helen McCarthy

that Joan Carragher be appointed as the second teller.

Carried.

2. Election of the Chairperson of the Board

Nominees

Michelle Griepsma – accepted

Michelle Griepsma was acclaimed the Chairperson of the Board for the term of

December 1, 2019 to November 30, 2020. Mrs. Griepsma was invited by Michael Nasello to move to the head of the table to assume the position of Chairperson of the meeting.

3. Election of the Vice-chairperson of the Board.

Nominees

David Bernier – accepted

David Bernier was acclaimed the Vice-chairperson of the Board for the term of December 1, 2019 to November 30, 2020.

- 4. R.A. Approval of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson as Signing Authorities.
 - **MOTION**: Moved by Braden Leal, seconded by Helen McCarthy

that the Chairperson, Michelle Griepsma and Vice-chairperson, David Bernier, be approved as signing authorities for the Board.

Carried.

- 5. R.A. Naming of the Standing Committees.
 - **MOTION:** Moved by Emmanuel Pinto, seconded by Kevin MacKenzie

that the following Standing Committees be approved for 2019-2020: Chairperson's Committee, Committee-of-the-Whole, and Policy Development Committee.

Carried.

- 6. Election of Standing Committee Chairpersons.
 - a. Committee-of-the-Whole Chairperson

<u>Nominees</u>

Linda Ainsworth – accepted David Bernier – declined Emmanuel Pinto – declined

Linda Ainsworth was acclaimed as the Chairperson for the Committee-of-the-Whole for the term December 1, 2019 to November 30, 2020.

b. Policy Development Chairperson.

<u>Nominees</u>

David Bernier – declined Emmanuel Pinto – accepted

Emmanuel Pinto was acclaimed as the Chairperson for the Policy Development Committee for the term December 1, 2019 to November 30, 2020.

7. Election of Board Representation to Various Committees.

a. Chairperson's Committee

<u>Nominees</u>

Linda Ainsworth	—	accepted
Braden Leal	_	accepted
Helen McCarthy	_	declined
Emmanuel Pinto	—	declined

Braden Leal was elected as trustee-at-large to the Chairperson's Committee for the term December 1, 2019 to November 30, 2020.

b. <u>Catholic Parent Engagement Committee</u>

<u>Nominees</u>

Kevin MacKenzie – accepted Emmanuel Pinto – declined

Kevin MacKenzie was acclaimed as the trustee representative on the Catholic Parent Engagement Committee for the term December 1, 2019 to November 30, 2020.

c. Supervised Alternative Learning Committee (SAL)

It was explained that one trustee sits on the SAL Committee and one alternate is designated. The election for the representative took place first, followed by the election of the alternate.

Nominees

Linda Ainsworth – declined Helen McCarthy – accepted Emmanuel Pinto – declined Helen McCarthy was acclaimed as the trustee representative on the Supervised Alternative Learning Committee (SAL) for the term December 1, 2019 to November 30, 2020.

<u>Nominees</u>

Linda Ainsworth – accepted Braden Leal – declined Kevin MacKenzie – declined Emmanuel Pinto – declined

Linda Ainsworth was acclaimed as the alternate trustee representative on the Supervised Alternative Learning Committee (SAL) for the term December 1, 2019 to November 30, 2020.

8. R.A. Destroying of the Ballots

MOTION: Moved by Kevin MacKenzie, seconded by Braden Leal

that the ballots be destroyed.

Carried.

C. Future Meetings and Events:

The Board Chairperson, Michelle Griepsma, reminded the trustees to make note of the upcoming meetings as listed.

1. Board Meeting

a. Board Meeting Open Session, December 17, 2019, 6:30 p.m. (In-camera Session, 6:00 p.m.)

2. Standing Committee Meetings

- a. Chairperson's Committee, December 9, 2019, 4:30 p.m.
- b. Committee-of-the-Whole, December 9, 2019, 6:30 p.m.
- **MOTION:** Moved by Braden Leal, seconded by Helen McCarthy

that the Committee-of-the-Whole meeting scheduled for December 9, 2019, be cancelled.

Carried.

c. Policy Development Committee, February 4, 2020, 6:30 p.m.

3. Other Committee Meetings.

- a. First Nation, Métis and Inuit Advisory Committee, December 10, 2019, 6:30 p.m.
- b. Student Council Liaison Committee, December 17, 2019, 4:15 p.m.
- c. Special Education Advisory Committee, January 16, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
- d. STSCO Governance Committee, January 29, 2020, 3:00 p.m.
- e. Catholic Parent Engagement Committee, February 3, 2020, 6:30 p.m. (St. Mary Catholic Secondary School, Cobourg)
- f. Accessibility for All Committee, February 4, 2020, 1:15 p.m.
- g. Faith and Equity Advisory Committee, February 13, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
- h. French as a Second Language Advisory Committee, April 15, 2020, 4:30 p.m.
- i. Audit Committee, TBA
- j. Supervised Alternative Learning Committee Meeting, TBA.

4. Board Events

- a. Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association Catholic Trustees Seminar, January 17-18, 2020, Delta Hotels by Marriott Airport.
- b. Toonies for Tuition Board-wide Fundraising Day, April 23, 2020.
- c. OCSTA 2019-2020 AGM and Conference, Ottawa, April 30-May 2, 2020.
- d. Catholic Education Week, May 3-9, 2020.
- e. Catholic Student Leadership Awards, Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School, May 6, 2020.
- f. CPEC Parent Engagement Event, Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary School, May 20, 2020.
- g. CCSTA 2019-2020 AGM and Conference, Collingwood, ON, June 4-6, 2020.

D. Conclusion:

1. Closing Prayer

Michelle Griepsma, Chairperson of the Board, called upon Father Paul Massel to lead everyone in a closing prayer.

- 2. Adjournment
 - MOTION: Moved by Braden Leal, seconded by Emmanuel Pinto

that the meeting be adjourned at 5:04 p.m.

Carried.

Michelle Griepsma Board Chairperson

Michael Nasello Director of Education, Secretary-Treasurer

per M.K.