



Minutes

The minutes of the Education Development Charges Background Study Joint Public Meeting of the Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board and the Peterborough Victoria Northumberland and Clarington Catholic District School Board, held Thursday, September 10, 2020, at 7:00 p.m. by Google Meet.

PRESENT:

Trustees:

KPRDSB Cathy Abraham, Terry Brown, Cyndi Dickson, Rose Kitney, Jaine Klassen

Jeninga, Angela Lloyd, Diane Lloyd, Emilio Ojeda, Steve Russell, Roan

Haggerty-Goede (Student Trustee).

PVNCCDSB Linda Ainsworth, David Bernier, Michelle Griepsma, Braden Leal, Kevin

MacKenzie, Helen McCarthy and Emmanuel Pinto.

Administration:

KPRDSB Chris Arnew, Stacey Foss.

PVNCCDSB Isabel Grace, Kevin Hickey, Michael Nasello.

Recording Secretary - Michelle Kennedy

REGRETS:

KPRDSB Sarah Bobka, Kailee Dupuis, Justine Mackay (Student Trustee), Jennifer

Leclerc.

PVNCCDSB Josh Hill (Student Trustee), Eli McColl (Student Trustee)

Jack Ammendolia from Watson and Associates Economists, Ltd and Jim Easto, legal counsel from Keel Cottrelle, LLP were guests in attendance.

A. Call to Order:

The Chairperson of the Peterborough Victoria Northumberland and Clarington Catholic District School Board, Michelle Griepsma, called the meeting to order at 7:03 p.m. and asked for a motion to approve the agenda.

1. Approval of the Agenda

MOTION: Moved by Cathy Abraham, seconded by Braden Leal

that the Agenda be approved.

Carried.

The Chairperson of the Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board, Diane Lloyd, declared that the meeting was duly constituted for purpose of conducting business.

2. Moment of Silence

A moment of silence was observed by all who were present.

3. <u>Land Acknowledgement</u>

Michelle Griepsma, PVNC Catholic Board Chairperson, respectfully acknowledged that the meeting was taking place on the treaty and traditional territory of the Mississauga Anishinaabeg.

4. Declarations of Conflicts of Interest

There were no declarations of conflicts of interest.

B. New Business:

1. Education Development Charges Policy Document.

Michelle Griepsma, Board Chairperson of the PVNCCDSB and Diane Lloyd, Board Chairperson of the KPRDSB each gave opening remarks to explain the proceedings and the purpose of the meeting and requirements for establishing an Education Development Charges Policy in accordance with the Education Act.

Jack Ammendolia of Watson & Assoiciates Economists Ltd. was invited to give a presentation. In his presentation, Mr. Ammendolia explained the background of the existing charges and what an Education Development Charge is. He reviewed the following Education Development Charge policies:

- Percentage of growth-related net education land costs to be borne through EDCs
- Exemptions Statutory and Non-Statutory
- Jurisdiction-wide or Area-specific charges
- Percentage of net education land costs to be borne by residential and nonresidential development
- Uniform charge for all types of development vs. differentiated charges

Jim Easto from Keel Cottrelle, spoke and confirmed that the required process of the policy reviewed has been followed.

C. Reports from Officials and Staff:

There were no reports given from officials or staff.

D. Questions by Board Members:

Questions from the trustees of the Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board and the Peterborough Victoria Northumberland and Clarington Catholic District School Board were invited and addressed by Mr. Ammendolia and Mr. Easto.

E. Delegations/Public Question Period:

There were no delegations or members of the public present and therefore, no questions.

F. Further Business:

There was no further business.

G. Conclusion:

Receipt of Reports

KPRDSB

MOTION: Moved by Angela Lloyd, seconded by Terry Brown

that the board receive as information the Education Development Charges (EDC) Policies presentation from Watson & Associates

Economists Ltd.

Carried.

PVNCCDSB

MOTION: Moved by David Bernier, seconded by Helen McCarthy

that the board receive as information the Education Development Charges (EDC) Policies presentation from Watson & Associates

Economists Ltd.

Carried.

Adjournment:

KPRDSB		= 2
MOTION:	MOTION: Moved by Rose Kitney, seconded by Emelio Ojeda	
	that the meeting be adjourned at 7:39 p.m.	
Carried.		
PVNCCDSB		
MOTION:	N: Moved by Linda Ainsworth, seconded by Emmanuel Pinto	
	that the meeting be adjourned at 7:39 p.m.	
Carried.		
Michelle Griepsma Chairperson, PVNCCDSB		Diane Lloyd Chairperson, KPRDSB